Living in Lower Saxony
Health Insurance, Emergency Services & Medical Care

Health Insurance

Everybody can get ill, also while studying abroad. That is why health insurance is obligatory in Germany – so that you will be cared for in case of illness and can focus on recovering, rather than being faced with financial difficulties.

For the enrolment at the latest, you will be asked for a proof that you have health insurance that is valid in Germany for the duration of your stay. Should you require a visa to enter Germany, you will need this proof already when you apply for your visa.

Students from EU-countries as well as from several other countries will not need additional health insurance, since the insurance valid in their home country will also be accepted in Germany. Private health insurance from your home country may be recognised as well. If none of this applies to you, you will have to take out statutory or private health insurance in Germany.
 

For students, we recommend statutory health insurance, if you qualify for it. The students' contribution for statutory health insurance is about 85 Euro per month, provided that you are under 30 years of age and have not studied more than 14 semesters yet. If you do not qualify for student health insurance, you will have to take out private health insurance. This will cost you at least 160 Euro per month.

 

Please contact your health insurance company at home, or the International Office of your university of choice to find out which options you have concerning health insurance. For detailed information on Health Insurance for Foreign Students in Germany (available in 40 languages) visit also www.krankenkassenzentrale.de.

Emergency Services

Sometimes you need help immediately. In Germany, there are two very important emergency numbers, which you should memorise. Call:

  • 112 for an ambulance, an emergency doctor and/or the fire brigade 
  • 110 for the police

In case of emergency, these numbers can be called around the clock and are of course free of charge. 

For medical emergencies, you can also go to the emergency room of the nearest hospital.

Medical Care

For less urgent cases of illness, please contact a general practitioner ("Allgemeinarzt") first. They are also called "family doctor" ("Hausarzt"). They will either treat you directly and may give you a prescription for medicine or supporting treatment measures, or they will refer you to a specialist for further examination (e. g. dermatologist, gynaecologist etc.). 

Should you need a general practitioner outside the regular consultation hours, i. e. in the evenings, on the weekend, or on holidays, you can call the emergency medical services ("ärztlicher Bereitschaftsdienst"). The number is: 116 117.

In Germany, prescription drugs and medicine are available almost exclusively in pharmacies. Pharmacies are marked with a big, red "A" for "Apotheke". Should you need medicine outside the regular opening hours, there is a pharmacy emergency service. To find out which pharmacy near you is on emergency duty, check the internet or the notice that you will find at every pharmacy.

Please note that many drugs (e. g. antibiotics) are available only on prescription. Except for a small co-payment, the costs for prescription drugs will be covered by your health insurance. Over the counter medication, such as mild painkillers, can be obtained without a prescription, and at your own expense.

Leben in Niedersachsen
Krankenversicherung, Notfalldienste & Medizinische Versorgung

Krankenversicherung

Jeder kann mal krank werden, auch bei einem Auslandsaufenthalt. In Deutschland ist es deshalb Pflicht, eine Krankenversicherung zu besitzen – damit Sie im Krankheitsfall gut versorgt werden können, um schnell wieder fit und gesund zu werden, ohne dabei in finanzielle Schwierigkeiten zu geraten.

Spätestens bei der Einschreibung müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie eine Krankenversicherung besitzen, die für die gesamte Dauer Ihres Aufenthalts in Deutschland gültig ist. Falls Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum benötigen, muss dieser Nachweis sogar schon beim Visumsantrag erbracht werden.

Studierende aus EU-Ländern sowie aus einigen anderen Staaten brauchen jedoch keine zusätzliche Versicherung, da die in ihrem Heimatland gültige Krankenversicherung auch in Deutschland anerkannt wird. Auch einige private Krankenversicherungen aus dem Heimatland werden anerkannt. Alle anderen müssen eine gesetzliche oder private Krankenversicherung in Deutschland abschließen.
 

Für Studierende empfiehlt sich der Beitritt zur gesetzlichen Krankenkasse. Der Studierenden-Beitrag für die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung beträgt ca. 85 Euro im Monat, sofern Sie noch unter 30 Jahren sind und das 14. Semester nicht überschritten haben. Danach ist nur noch eine private Versicherung möglich. Die monatlichen Kosten liegen dann bei mindestens 160 Euro.

 

Am besten lassen Sie sich hierzu vom International Office Ihrer (Wunsch-)Hochschule beraten. Umfassende Informationen zum Thema "Krankenversicherung für Ausländer in Deutschland" (in 40 Sprachen verfügbar) erhalten Sie außerdem bei www.krankenkassenzentrale.de. 

Notfalldienste

Manchmal braucht man ganz schnell Hilfe. Für solche Fälle gibt es in Deutschland zwei sehr wichtige Notrufnummern, die Sie sich am besten merken sollten. Unter: 

  • 112 erreichen Sie Notarzt, Krankenwagen und/oder Feuerwehr
  • 110 erreichen Sie die Polizei

Natürlich sind alle Notrufnummern kostenlos und rund um die Uhr zu erreichen. 

Falls Sie einen medizinischen Notfall haben, können Sie sich auch direkt an die Notaufnahme des nächstgelegenen Krankenhauses wenden. 

Medizinische Versorgung

Für weniger dringende Krankheitsfälle wenden Sie sich am besten zuerst an einen Allgemeinarzt. Dieser wird manchmal auch als "Hausarzt" bezeichnet. Dort werden Sie entweder direkt behandelt und erhalten z. B. ein Rezept für Medikamente oder unterstützende Behandlungsmaßnahmen, oder Sie werden zur genaueren Untersuchung an einen Facharzt (z. B. Hautarzt, Gynäkologe) überwiesen. 

Falls Sie außerhalb der Sprechzeiten, also nach Feierabend, am Wochenende oder an Feiertagen, eine allgemeinärztliche Untersuchung benötigen, können Sie sich telefonisch an den ärztlichen Bereitschaftsdienst wenden. Die Nummer lautet: 116 117

Medikamente erhalten Sie in Deutschland fast nur in Apotheken. Diese sind durch ein großes, rotes "A" gekennzeichnet. Falls Sie außerhalb der regulären Öffnungszeiten ein Medikament benötigen, gibt es einen Apothekennotdienst. Welche Apotheke in der Umgebung Notdienst hat, erfahren Sie im Internet oder im Aushang jeder Apotheke.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass viele Medikamente (z. B. Antibiotika) rezeptpflichtig sind und nur nach Vorlage eines ärztlichen Rezepts ausgegeben werden. Bis auf eine Zuzahlung werden die Kosten dafür von der Krankenkasse übernommen. Rezeptfreie Medikamente, wie z. B. leichtere Schmerzmittel, erhalten Sie hingegen auf eigene Rechnung auch ohne Rezept.